To return to the new Peace Now website click here.

APN Elects New National Officers; Professor Franklin Fisher Is New Chair

The Board of Directors of Americans for Peace Now (APN) recently elected a new slate of officers to lead the organization for the next two years.

Franklin Fisher - New APN Chair

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE - December 15, 2005
CONTACT: Lewis Roth - (202) 728-1893

Washington, D.C.-The Board of Directors of Americans for Peace Now (APN) recently elected a new slate of officers to lead the organization for the next two years. Professor Franklin Fisher of Boston, Massachusetts, was selected as Chair of the group, replacing Luis Lainer of Los Angeles, California, who served with distinction as Chair and Co-Chair of APN for the last four years. APN is a Jewish, Zionist organization dedicated to enhancing Israel's security through peace and to supporting the Israeli Peace Now movement.

"We are excited about having another group of officers leading our organization that has such extensive ties to the American Jewish community and dedication to Israel and the cause of peace," said Debra DeLee, President and CEO of Americans for Peace Now. "These leaders will help APN and Peace Now in Israel take advantage of the opportunities for peace that have been created by this summer's evacuation of settlements and the current Israeli election campaign."

Professor Franklin Fisher, APN's new Chair, is the Jane Berkowitz Carlton and Dennis William Carlton Professor of Microeconomics, Emeritus, at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he taught for 44 years. In addition to MIT, Professor Fisher has taught at Harvard University, the University of Chicago, Oxford, the University of Canterbury, The Hebrew University, and Tel Aviv University. He received his Ph.D. in economics from Harvard University, and he has published 17 books and well over 100 articles in the area of economics. Professor Fisher has long been active in Jewish and Israeli matters, having served in the past as president of the New Israel Fund and of the New England Region of the American Jewish Congress. He is (for the second time) the Treasurer of the New Israel Fund. He is also a frequent visitor to Israel and the recipient of an honorary doctor's degree from The Hebrew University of Jerusalem. In addition, Professor Fisher has served for several years as the Chair of the Middle East Water Project, a cooperative endeavor of American, Dutch, Israeli, Jordanian, and Palestinian experts, facilitated by the government of The Netherlands with the assent of the regional governments.

Martin Bresler of New York was elected to be Vice Chair, having just completed serving a term as Secretary. Mr. Bresler is an attorney (retired) who was a partner at Stroock & Stroock & Lavan in New York City. He also serves on the Executive Committee and Board of APN, as well as the Board of Governors of the American Jewish Committee. In addition, he is a member of the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors of the Federation Employment & Guidance Service.

Elaine Hoffman of Los Angeles, California, was elected to serve her second consecutive term as APN's National Treasurer. Earlier this year, she was the recipient of APN's 2005 Yitzhak Rabin Peace Award. Ms. Hoffman is currently a partner in Cherbo Publishing Group. In the past, she served as Finance Director for the California Democratic Party, as Finance Director of the Democratic National Committee, and as a member of the Board of Directors of the Los Angeles Jewish Federation. In addition to her service as an officer with APN, Ms. Hoffman is a member of the organization's Executive Committee and Board.

Jo-Ann Mort of New York was elected to be APN's new Secretary. Ms. Mort is a long-time member of the APN Executive Committee and Board. She is the co-author of Our Hearts Invented a Place: Can Kibbutzim Survive in Today's Israel and writes frequent analysis about Israel for various newspapers and magazines. She is also a strategic communications consultant working with foundations, non-profits, and labor unions.